This is what my Adventure Cost:

backpack

I spent 8 days in Yucatan, Mexico on a little Budget Adventure. Aside from airfare which I usually try to pay under $500.00 CAD return From Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada to Cancun, Mexico

I Arrived At Cancun Airport at 6 pm. I took an ADO bus into Cancun City  (Easy to find, right outside of airport) for $72 MX

I walked 2 blocks from the ADO Station to my Hostel, House Las Flores Hostel. I liked this place, good security, Clean and Comfy beds. One night here was $136 MX

The next day, I walked back to the ADO station and took a bus to the city of Valladolid. There are a few options for travel around Mexico with different comfort and price levels. So Normally as a budget traveller the 1st class bus wouldn’t have been my 1st choice. But I only had 8 days and opted for the quickest transportation on this adventure. The cost of a ticket from Cancun to Valladolid was $180 MX

I arrived in Valladolid, and walked a few blocks from the station to my Hostel, Woods Chamal Hostel. I stayed here for 3 nights, it had a cool vibe, free wi-fi and free breakfast every morning. Total cost for 4 days/ 3 nights was $455 MX

My exploring was mostly free but I did pay for a few things:

Cenote Zaci, The local swimming hole costs $30 a day and I spent 2 days there for a total of $60 MX

Ek Balam Ruins and Cenote, Beautiful Ruins in the Jungle and a swim in a cool cenote. This is 23km outside the city, you will need transportation. Collectivos and taxis are pretty cheap. I was lucky and got a drive with some fellow travellers, and some mates for the day. Ek Balam Ruins and Cenote Admissions Total $200 MX

Food was pretty cheap there and I made a few meals at the hostel with groceries I had picked up, plus breakfast was included every morning. Total $400 MX

Drinks, Water was provided at hostel so besides the odd bottle of water when I was out exploring; the only drinks were my 2 Pina Coladas each day Smile  Total $400 MX

Next Stop Cancun

I took the Bus from the ADO station in Valladolid to the Cancun ADO station for $160 MX

I walked to the street from the ADO station and caught a local bus to the Hotel Zone for $10.5 MX

I was hosted by wonderful friends in their place at The Royal Sands Cancun. Its Beautiful, and much swankier then my usual digs. There was also a kitchen here so most meals were made in suite, another savings, But prepared food was also fairly cheap there.

I spent time on the beach and exploring….to the market and a few other places via local bus. (Bus 10.5  MX)

Food, Drink, Entertainment in Cancun, and an early morning Airport transport  Total $1500 MX

Grand Total Cost for 8 days in Mexico: $3393.5 MX = $245.00 CAD

Not bad for an Adventure!!

 

